Written by: In Our Schools Miami

UMiami Students Nominated for Two National College Television Awards

Seventeen students from the University of Miami have been nominated for the Television Academy Foundation’s 42nd College Television Awards.

UM’s SportsDesk and NewsVision have been nominated in the Sports and News categories, selected by Television Academy members from more than 120 submissions from colleges and universities nationwide.

The Foundation’s annual College Television Awards recognizes and rewards excellence in student-produced programs. Winners in the competition will be announced by television stars at the awards ceremony in Hollywood on April 1, 2023.

In the Sports category, SportsDesk, UMTV’s live weekly sports show, is dedicated to covering University of Miami’s athletics. This special edition includes features on the contested origin of the “U” hand sign, one Hurricanes fan’s battle against cancer and updates on what former UM athletes are currently doing. The student nominees for this episode are: Danyel DeVilliers, director and producer; Gianna Sanchez, producer; Derryl Barnes, writer; Maxwell Trink, writer; Josh White, writer; Thomas Sullivan, writer; Cassandra Garcia, writer; and Michelle Ng-Reyes, writer.

NewsVision, a half-hour live news program on the University of Miami’s student-run television station, UMTV, has been nominated in the News category. NewsVision covers national and local news, weather and sports impacting the UM community. The nominated episode includes stories on a Brightline train crash, community outrage over a local park entrance, and one physician’s assistant who goes beyond her duty to save two young patients. Student nominees who worked on the program are: Ben Ezzy, director; Tyler Walsh, producer; Spencer Askinazy, producer; Katelyn Kucharski, writer; Sophia Vitello, writer; Harvey Duplock, writer; Embrik Eyles, writer; Derryl Barnes, writer; and Blake Atwell, writer.

Nominees of the 42nd College Television Awards have the opportunity to participate in professional development programs, March 29-April 1, which include an industry professionals networking breakfast, Hollywood studio visits and more career- enhancing opportunities before they hit the red carpet awards show.

In addition, nominees and winners automatically become members of the Television Academy Foundation’s alumni family, gaining access to year-round networking opportunities, events and professional development resources. Prominent College Television Awards alumni include CNN national correspondent Natasha Chen; Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan director Patricia Riggen; Maya and the Three executive producer Jorge Gutierrez; and Love, Victor executive producer Jason Ensler.

Image from SportDesk nominated in the Sports category from the University of Miami

(Visited 28 times, 1 visits today)
Tags: , Last modified: February 3, 2023