Written by: In Our Schools

Five Esteemed M-DCPS Graduates Inducted into the Alumni Hall of Fame Class of 2020

Five esteemed and distinguished graduates of Miami-Dade’s public schools have been inducted into Miami-Dade County Public Schools’ (M-DCPS) Alumni Hall of Fame for exemplifying the best of human achievement.

With the addition of this year’s inductees, the number of Alumni Hall of Fame members rises to 39. They are examples of the extraordinary talent cultivated in our public schools and now shining on the national stage.

Joining the ranks of illustrious alumni who reflect the rich history of Miami-Dade’s schools and representing the Class of 2020 are the following:

  • Barry Jenkins – Miami Northwestern Senior High School – Class of 1998
    • Film director, producer and screenwriter 
    • 2017 Academy Award Winner, Best Adapted Screenplay for Best Picture “Moonlight”
  • Mitchell Kaplan – Miami Beach Senior High School – Class of 1972 
    • Owner, Books & Books 
    • Founder of the Miami Book Fair, publisher, podcaster and movie producer 
  • Tarell Alvin McCraney – New World School of the Arts – Class of 1999 
    • American Playwright and Actor
    • 2017 Academy Award Winner, Best Adapted Screenplay for Best Picture “Moonlight” 
  • Sam Moore – Booker T. Washington High School – Class of 1953
    • Singer, songwriter and musician 
    • Grammy Hall of Fame Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 
  • Stephen M. Ross – Miami Beach Senior High School – Class of 1958
    • Chairman of The Related Companies 
    • Principal owner of the Miami Dolphins and Hard Rock Stadium 

For further information, please contact the Office of Community Engagement at 305-995-1265.

Pictured left-to-right: 2016 Alumni Hall of Fame inductee Larry Little; School Board Member Susie Castillo; 2012 Alumni Hall of Fame inductee Juan del Busto; School Board Member Mari Tere Rojas; Class of 2020 Alumni Hall of Fame inductees Mitchell Kaplan and Sam Moore; 2012 Alumni Hall of Fame inductee Ron Magill; Schools Superintendent Alberto M. Carvalho; School Board Member Dr. Marta Pérez; Foundation for New Education Initiatives, Inc. Board Members Kadisha Phelps and Alan H. Fein, a 2019 Alumni Hall of Famer inductee. (NOT PICTURED: Barry Jenkins, Tarell Alvin McCraney and Stephen M. Ross)

(Visited 53 times, 1 visits today)
Tags: , , , Last modified: February 24, 2020