Monday, February 18, 2019
Cutler Bay

Town Elects New Mayor and Council Members

Tim Meerbott Debra Eastman with Robert “BJ” Duncan Roger CoriatThe Town’s November 20 Runoff Election’s unofficial results revealed that the new Mayor will be none other than Tim Meerbott, while Roger Coriat has been re-elected as Council Member Seat 3. Robert “BJ” Duncan was automatically elected to Council Member Seat 1, when he was the only candidate to file for the seat.

For the Mayoral seat, Meerbott had the most votes in Tuesday’s race with 2,618 votes (or 67 percent) after all precincts reported, while Coriat gained 2,156 votes (or 57 percent).

The Runoff Election was required by the Town’s Charter after the November 6 Election’s three-way race for both the Mayor and Council Member Seat 3 did not produce a candidate with more than 50 percent of the votes. To be elected, the Town’s Charter stipulates that any candidate running must receive more than 50 percent of the votes.

Town Clerk, Debra Eastman, administered the oath of office to BJ Duncan on November 19 and will administer the oath of office to Meerbott and Coriat on Tuesday, November 27. The Town will host an Inaugural Ceremony on Thursday, December 6, 2018, at 6:30 p.m. in the Town’s Council Chambers to ceremoniously swear-in the newly elected officials.

the authorTFVstaff